Articles on: Medical Background and Skincompatibility

What is the luteal phase?

Your cycle consists of two phases: the follicular phase and the luteal phase.

The luteal phase refers to the time after ovulation and before your next period and usually lasts about 12-14 days. During this phase, the corpus luteum is formed from the matured egg.

This corpus luteum dissolves if no egg is fertilized. If it is fertilized, the hormones released by the corpus luteum provide the basis for a pregnancy.

femSense determines the patch application day based on your period (= the end of the luteal phase). Since this luteal phase, like any other phase of the female cycle, is not always the same, you can adjust the length of your luteal phase in the app. You can find out more about this in this article.

Updated on: 06/07/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!